Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

craig mcdean styled by joe mckenna for t magazine's september 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine’s September 2014 issue

Fall is probably my favorite season for fashion. It’s a season full of options in the form of knits, sweaters, boots, textures, beautiful jackets, scarves, socks, knee highs, corduroys, hats,fur ( I could go on-but won’t). A season full of so many possibilities in clothing that it makes styling that much more fun.

I came across this editorial from T Magazine’s September 2014 issue, shot by  Craig Mcdean and styled by Joe McKenna.  A nice introduction to ease us in to fall featuring key looks and pieces from fall 2014 collection’s.  McKenna translates the runway looks and pieces in to wearable day time (some of them more than others) looks by pairing each ensemble with Rick Owen’s over-the-knee sneaker like leather boots. He shows us modern, casual, and slightly tom boy approach for the city girl and or lady..

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine's September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine’s September 2014 issue

I will do just about anything to own the full length, double breasted coat by Céline this fall.  It’s placed at number 1 on my fall wish list. I find it’s feminine shape, beautiful collar, large button’s, and subtle frayed edges so stunning. I also am very in to a double breasted fit so I know this would be over the top perfection on. It’s also TIMELESS. It’s a jacket that will last for years. So if there is anyone out there that feels like buying it for me just let me know and I will gladly accept. In the meantime, I will find some suitable less expensive options.

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine's September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine’s September 2014 issue

note the lovely frayed edges add some beautiful texture and an effortlessly chic element to the garments and over all look. see my previous post on the frey trend here.

 

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine's September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine’s September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine's September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna for T Magazine’s September 2014 issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna T Magazine's September 2014 Issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna T Magazine’s September 2014 Issue

 

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna T Magazine's September 2014 Issue

Photo by Craig McDean styled by Joe McKenna T Magazine’s September 2014 Issue

I admire the work of Craig McDean and Joe McKenna very much for their abilities to reinterpret fashion and define fashion in a modern way that is so down to earth and real.  Craig McDean’s editorials and photographs always end up being those I tear out of magazine’s and or save on my desktop, some of his images reside in my mind and I refer to them time and again while working on set and or coming up with concept’s for shoots. Joe McKenna’s styling always inspires me and sparks me to think about fashion and putting clothing together in new ways, he make’s fashion so approachable for the modern lady to do on her own. This is one way to approach fall… there are many others. I will continue to provide images in the next coming weeks to prepare you and your shopping list for fall shopping.